Welcome to the website of St Peter’s Church, Woolley

 

We are part of the Diocese of West Yorkshire and The Dales, and the Church of England.

St Peter’s is a medieval church with some good late medieval stained glass. We are the only church serving the village of Woolley, just off the M1 motorway at junction 38 and 7 miles south of Wakefield. Click here to view map.

If you are thinking about having your wedding at St Peter’s, we offer Marriage Preparation to help you make it the best of beginnings.

Our sister church is in the neighbouring village of West Bretton, home of the world-renowned Yorkshire Sculpture Park. The Church in West Bretton is an Anglican-Methodist Local Ecumenical Partnership. Sunday services there are at 10.30am each week. Anglican Holy Communion is on the 4th Sunday, and usually we have Holy Communion there on Tuesdays at 10.30am.

Priest in charge:
Revd Canon Stephen Kelly

Follow us on Twitter: @woolleychurch


Church Services and Events @ St Peter’s Woolley
in March& April:

Sunday 22nd February, 9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
Thursday 26th February, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 1st March, 10.30am Holy Communion
12.30pm Out To Lunch at the Village Hall
Monday 2nd March,
 7pm Barnabas Group in church
8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
Thursday 5th March, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 8th March,
10.30am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
5pm Young Adventurers meet at the Village Hall, followed by tea at 6pm
6.30pm Diamondbacks Bake-off at Village Hall
Thursday 12th March, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Friday 13th March, 10am Toddler Praise.  Download pdf Toddler Praise Flyer 2014-15

Sunday 15th March, Mothering Sunday, 10.30am All-age Communion
Monday 16th March, 7.30pm Parochial Church Council in the Village Hall
Thursday 19th March, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 22nd March, 9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
Thursday 26th March, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 29th March, Palm Sunday, 10.30am Holy Communion
Monday 30th March, 7.30pm Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
Tuesday 31st March, 7.30pm Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
Wednesday 1st April, 7.30pm Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
Thursday 2nd April, Maundy Thursday, 7.30pm Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
Friday 3rd April, Good Friday, 7.30pm Evening Service at St Peter’s, Woolley
Saturday 4th April, 8.30pm Service of New Light at St Peter’s, Woolley

Sunday 5th April, Easter Day, 9am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
10.30am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
Thursday 9th April, Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Friday 10th April, 10am Toddler Praise.  Download pdf Toddler Praise Flyer 2014-15

Sunday 12th April,
10.30am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
5pm Young Adventurers meet at the Village Hall, followed by tea at 6pm
7pm Diamondbacks at the Village Hall
Thursday 16th April, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Saturday 18th April, 10am – 1pm, Marriage Preparation Morning at St Peter’s, Woolley

Sunday 19th April, 10.30am Holy Communion
11.45am Annual Parochial Church Meeting
Thursday 23rd April, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 26th April, 9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
7pm Barnabas Group in church
Thursday 30th April, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 3rd May, 10.30am Holy Communion
12.30pm Out To Lunch at the Village Hall
Monday 4th May,
 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace

church

Sunday Service Times
10.30am 1st Sunday – Sung Communion using the Modern Rite (Common Worship)
2nd Sunday – Sung Communion using the Old English Rite (Book of Common Prayer)
Young Adventurers meet in the Village Hall at 5pm, followed by food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
Diamondbacks meet in the Village Hall at 7pm, following food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
9am 4th Sunday CW Sung Communion
Coffee & biscuits each Sunday in the church

Midweek Service Times
Thursday 10am Holy Communion using the Old English Rite (BCP) with Prayer for Healing
1st Monday 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
The aim of the service is to provide a space to be still and quiet in God’s presence.
It is relaxed and informal. The service lasts 45 minutes.
2nd Friday 10am Toddler Praise half an hour of songs, story, actions, for toddlers and their carers (during School Term Time). Download pdf Toddler Praise Flyer 2014-15

Links
Diocese of West Yorkshire and The Dales
CVMA website