Welcome to the website of St Peter’s Church, Woolley

 

We are part of the Diocese of Leeds, and the Church of England.

St Peter’s is a medieval church with some good late medieval stained glass. We are the only church serving the village of Woolley, just off the M1 motorway at junction 38 and 7 miles south of Wakefield. Click here to view map.

If you are thinking about having your wedding at St Peter’s, we offer Marriage Preparation to help you make it the best of beginnings.

Our sister church is in the neighbouring village of West Bretton, home of the world-renowned Yorkshire Sculpture Park. The Church in West Bretton is an Anglican-Methodist Local Ecumenical Partnership. Sunday services there are at 10.30am each week. Anglican Holy Communion is on the 4th Sunday, and usually we have Holy Communion there on Tuesdays at 10.30am.

Our neighbouring parish in Wakefield is St James’ Chapelthorpe.  View their website here.

Priest in charge:
Revd Canon Stephen Kelly

Follow us on Twitter: @woolleychurch

 

A Prayer for Refugees

Merciful God,
your son was a refugee and shared the suffering of people fleeing from danger in fear and repression.
You know what it is like to be hungry and afraid and have nowhere to call home.

God of the displaced,
we pray for the safety of the refugees and ask that they will find a place of security.
Protect them from those who would seek to exploit them and from other dangers.

God of hope,
we thank you for those organisations in our region and more widely who are working to bring relief and comfort to those displaced, showing glimpses of grace in the darkness of despair. God, give them strength.
God of justice,
guide the nations and the leaders of the world towards peace and justice; 
stir all of our hearts to be generous and compassionate.
God, help us to play our part in bringing about the change that we want to see.
Through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Amen.
(adapted from a prayer published by the Exeter Diocese)

Church Services and Events @ St Peter’s Woolley
in February & March :

Thursday 2nd February, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Saturday 4th February, 10am to 12noon Coffee Morning at Pear Tree Farm

Sunday 5th February
10.30am Holy Communion at Woolley.
12.30pm Out2Lunch at the Village Hall
Diamondbacks visit to Leeds Ice Cube, afternoon & evening.
Monday 6th February, 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace.
Thursday 9th February, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Friday 10th February, 10am Toddler Praise

Sunday 12th February, 10.30am, Sung Communion (Traditional Rite)
Thursday 16th February, 10am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)

Sunday 19th February, 10.30am Sung Communion
Wednesday 22nd February, 2pm  Knit & Natter at the Village Hall
Thursday 23rd February, 10am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Friday 24th February, 10am Toddler Praise

Sunday 26th February, 9am Holy Communion
10.30am, Holy Communion at West Bretton
Wednesday 1st March, Ash Wednesday 7.30pm Holy Communion
and Imposition of Ashes
Thursday 2nd March, 10am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Thursday 2nd March, 12.30pm Out2Lunch at the Village Hall

Sunday 5th March, 10.30am Sung Communion
Monday 6th March, 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
Thursday 9th March, 10am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Friday 10th March, 10am Toddler Praise

Sunday 12th March, 10.30am, Sung Communion (Traditional Rite)
5pm Young Adventurers at the Village Hall
7 pm Diamondbacks (Pizza Bake-Off at the Village Hall)
Monday 13th March, 7.30pm Church Council at the Village Hall
Thursday 16th March, 10am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)

Sunday 19th March, 10.30am Sung Communion
Wednesday 22nd March, 2pm Knit & Natter at the Village Hall
Thursday 23rd March, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Friday 24th March, 10am Toddler Praise
Remember Clocks Go Forward this Weekend
Sunday 26th March, Mothering Sunday
 9am Holy Communion
10.30am, Holy Communion at West Bretton
12.30pm Out ToLunch at the Village Hall
Wednesday 29th March, 2pm Knit & Natter in the Village Hall
Thursday 30th March, No Service


church

Sunday Service Times
10.30am 1st, 3rd & 5th Sundays – Sung Communion using the Modern Rite (Common Worship)
2nd Sunday – Sung Communion using the Old English Rite (Book of Common Prayer)
Young Adventurers meet in the Village Hall at 5pm, followed by food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
Diamondbacks meet in the Village Hall at 7pm, following food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
9am 4th Sunday CW Sung Communion
Coffee & biscuits each Sunday in the church

Midweek Service Times
Thursday 10am Holy Communion using the Old English Rite (BCP) with Prayer for Healing
1st Monday 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
The aim of the service is to provide a space to be still and quiet in God’s presence.
It is relaxed and informal. The service lasts 45 minutes.
2nd & 4th Fridays 10am Toddler Praise half an hour of songs, story, actions, for toddlers and their carers (during School Term Time).

Links
Diocese of Leeds
CVMA website