Welcome to the website of St Peter’s Church, Woolley

 

We are part of the Diocese of West Yorkshire and The Dales, and the Church of England.

St Peter’s is a medieval church with some good late medieval stained glass. We are the only church serving the village of Woolley, just off the M1 motorway at junction 38 and 7 miles south of Wakefield. Click here to view map.

If you are thinking about having your wedding at St Peter’s, we offer Marriage Preparation to help you make it the best of beginnings.

Our sister church is in the neighbouring village of West Bretton, home of the world-renowned Yorkshire Sculpture Park. The Church in West Bretton is an Anglican-Methodist Local Ecumenical Partnership. Sunday services there are at 10.30am each week. Anglican Holy Communion is on the 4th Sunday, and usually we have Holy Communion there on Tuesdays at 10.30am.

Priest in charge:
Revd Canon Stephen Kelly

Church Services and Events @ St Peter’s Woolley in July & August:

Thursday 3rd July, St Thomas the Apostle 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 6th July, 10.30am Holy Communion
Monday 7th July, 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
Thursday 10th July, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Saturday 12th July, 2.30pm Wedding of Simon Jones and Jane Woffenden

Sunday 13th July, 10.30am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Thursday 17th July, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 20th July, 10.30am Holy Communion & Baptism of Ethan Doyle

Sunday 27th July, 9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley.
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton

Sunday 3rd August, 10.30am Holy Communion
Monday 4th August, 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
Thursday 7th August, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 10th August, 10.30am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Thursday 14th August, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 17th August, 10.30am Holy Communion
Thursday 21st August, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 24th August, St Bartholomew the Apostle, 9am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
10.30am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
Thursday 28th August, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 31st August, 10.30am Holy Communion & Baptism of Guy Hebdon

church

Sunday Service Times
10.30am 1st Sunday – Sung Communion using the Modern Rite (Common Worship)
2nd Sunday – Sung Communion using the Old English Rite (Book of Common Prayer)
Young Adventurers meet in the Village Hall at 5pm, followed by food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
Diamondbacks meet in the Village Hall at 7pm, following food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
9am 4th Sunday CW Sung Communion
Coffee & biscuits each Sunday in the church

Midweek Service Times
Thursday 10am Holy Communion using the Old English Rite (BCP) with Prayer for Healing
1st Monday 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
The aim of the service is to provide a space to be still and quiet in God’s presence.
It is relaxed and informal. The service lasts 45 minutes.
2nd Friday 10am Toddler Praise half an hour of songs, story, actions, for toddlers and their carers (during School Term Time)

Links
Diocese of West Yorkshire and The Dales
CVMA website