Welcome to the website of St Peter’s Church, Woolley

 

We are part of the Diocese of West Yorkshire and The Dales, and the Church of England.

St Peter’s is a medieval church with some good late medieval stained glass. We are the only church serving the village of Woolley, just off the M1 motorway at junction 38 and 7 miles south of Wakefield. Click here to view map.

If you are thinking about having your wedding at St Peter’s, we offer Marriage Preparation to help you make it the best of beginnings.

Our sister church is in the neighbouring village of West Bretton, home of the world-renowned Yorkshire Sculpture Park. The Church in West Bretton is an Anglican-Methodist Local Ecumenical Partnership. Sunday services there are at 10.30am each week. Anglican Holy Communion is on the 4th Sunday, and usually we have Holy Communion there on Tuesdays at 10.30am.

Priest in charge:
Revd Canon Stephen Kelly

Follow us on Twitter: @woolleychurch


Church Services and Events @ St Peter’s Woolley
in May, June & July:

 

Sunday 17th May, 10.30am Holy Communion & Baptism of Luke Owen Redfern
Monday 18th May, 7.30pm Parochial Church Council in the Village Hall
Wednesday 20th May, 2pm Knit & Natter Club in the Village Hall
Thursday 21st May, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 24th May, Pentecost, 9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
Thursday 28th May, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 31st May, Trinity Sunday, 10.30am Holy Communion
Monday 1st June, 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
Thursday 4th June, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
12.30pm Out To Lunch at the Village Hall

Sunday 7th June, 10.30am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Thursday 11th June, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Friday 12th June, 10am Toddler Praise.  Download pdf Toddler Praise Flyer 2014-15

Sunday 14th June, 10.30am Holy Communion & Baptism of Anna Natalie Walker
5pm Young Adventurers meet at the Village Hall
Thursday 18th June10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 21st June, 10.30am Holy Communion & Confirmation Service with Bishop Tony Robinson
Thursday 25th June, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Saturday 27th June, 2pm Wedding of Russell Moran & Tracy Kilburn

Sunday 28th June9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
1.30pm Woolley Feast at the Village Hall and Recreation Ground
Thursday 2nd July, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Friday 3rd July, 6.30pm The Sorcerer’s Apprentice at Woolley Village Recreation Ground
Saturday 4th July, 2pm Wedding of Gareth Mitchell & Jill Dunbar

Sunday 5th July, 10.30am Holy Communion & Baptism of James Owen Nichols
12.30pm Out To Lunch at the Village Hall
Monday 6th July,
 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
Thursday 9th July, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Saturday 11th July, 1pm Wedding of Chris Howell & Karen Willoughby

Sunday 12th July, 10.30am Holy Communion (Traditional Rite)
Thursday 16th July, 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

Sunday 19th July, 10.30am Holy Communion
Thursday 23rd July,
 10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)
Saturday 25th July, Church Cake Stall at Woolley Horse Show

Sunday 26th July9am Holy Communion at St Peter’s, Woolley
10.30am Holy Communion at The Church in West Bretton
Thursday 30th July10am Holy Communion (said, Traditional Rite)

church

Sunday Service Times
10.30am 1st Sunday – Sung Communion using the Modern Rite (Common Worship)
2nd Sunday – Sung Communion using the Old English Rite (Book of Common Prayer)
Young Adventurers meet in the Village Hall at 5pm, followed by food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
Diamondbacks meet in the Village Hall at 7pm, following food at 6pm (during School Term Time)
9am 4th Sunday CW Sung Communion
Coffee & biscuits each Sunday in the church

Midweek Service Times
Thursday 10am Holy Communion using the Old English Rite (BCP) with Prayer for Healing
1st Monday 8pm Service of Stillness & Peace
The aim of the service is to provide a space to be still and quiet in God’s presence.
It is relaxed and informal. The service lasts 45 minutes.
2nd Friday 10am Toddler Praise half an hour of songs, story, actions, for toddlers and their carers (during School Term Time). Download pdf Toddler Praise Flyer 2014-15

Links
Diocese of West Yorkshire and The Dales
CVMA website